REPORT

and

DETERMINATIONS

Of

THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT REMUNERATION TRIBUNAL

Under

SECTIONS 239 AND 241

of the

LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1993

13 April 2005

REPORT:

Pursuant to Section 241 of the *Local Government Act 1993* (the Act) the Local Government Remuneration Tribunal hereby determines the categories for councils, county councils and mayoral officers and the maximum and minimum amount of fees to be paid during the period 1 July 2005 to 30 June 2006 to mayors and councillors of councils as well as chairpersons and members of county councils.

In undertaking the 2005 review the Tribunal sought submissions from councils and the Local Government and Shires Associations on both the categories of councils and the minimum and maximum level of fees payable to councillors and mayors. This year in particular, the Tribunal indicated its intention to undertake a review of the categories of councils which were initially determined in 1995.

The Minister for Local Government, the Hon Tony Kelly MLC, has advised the Tribunal that the Department of Local Government will undertake a review of the expenses policies adopted by councils with a view to guidelines being developed. Councils are currently required, pursuant to section 252 of the Act, to adopt a policy for the payment of expenses to mayors, deputy mayors and other councillors.

As the issues surrounding the payment of fees and expenses are related, the Minister has requested that the Tribunal defer its review of categories until such time as the Department has completed its review. One option being considered is the central regulation of expenses and whether different categories of councils should have variable expense structures.

Underpinning the category structure developed by the Tribunal is the principle that like sized councils receive comparable fee levels to perform the roles and responsibilities for which they were elected.

Expenses policies are, under the legislation, a matter for each council. There is no suggestion

that this should change. What is at issue, however, is that under the current arrangements

expenses policies adopted by councils within the same category may differ significantly in

quantum and scope.

The proposed review provides the opportunity for the Tribunal to have regard to the impact,

if any, of councils' expense policies on the current category and fee structures.

On this basis, and after consultation with the Assessors, the Tribunal has agreed to defer making

any changes to the categories of councils for 2005/2006. In addition, the Tribunal has deferred

its decision to visit and meet with councils until the review is complete, which is expected to be

later this year. The Tribunal would like to thank those councils and the Associations who

provided information in regard to the review of categories. The Tribunal will continue its

investigations with a view to finalising this matter as part of the 2006/2007 annual review

process. Submissions already received will be considered again at that time.

In the light of the review of the expenses policy the Tribunal has considered the quantum of

fees for 2005/2006. It has been determined to defer any changes to the fee structure until the

results of the Government's inquiry are available.

Local Government Remuneration Tribunal

(The Honourable Charles L Cullen QC)

Dated: 13 April 2005

2

DETERMINATION OF CATEGORIES OF COUNCILS AND COUNTY COUNCILS FOR 2005/2006

Category S1 (1 Council) Sydney

Category S2 (3 Councils) Newcastle

Parramatta Wollongong

Category S3 County Councils

Category S4 County Councils

(engaged in significant commercial activities)

Category 1A (2 Councils)

Blacktown Penrith

Category 1. (16 Councils)

Bankstown Liverpool Baulkham Hills North Sydney Campbelltown Randwick Fairfield Rvde Gosford Sutherland Hornsby Warringah Hurstville Willoughby Lake Macquarie Wyong

Category 2. (21 Councils)

Ashfield Lane Cove Auburn Leichhardt Botany Manly Burwood Marrickville Camden Mosman Canada Bay Pittwater Canterbury Rockdale Holroyd Strathfield Hunters Hill Waverley Woollahra Kogarah

Ku ring Gai

Category 3. (32 Councils)

Greater Taree Albury City Armidale Dumaresq Griffith Ballina **Hastings** Bathurst Regional Hawkesbury Bega Valley Kempsey Blue Mountains Lismore Broken Hill Maitland Byron Orange Cessnock Pt Stephens Clarence Valley Shellharbour Coffs Harbour Shoalhaven

Dubbo Tamworth Regional
Eurobodalla Tweed Heads
Gt Lakes Wagga Wagga
Goulburn Mulwaree Wingecarribee
Queanbeyan Wollondilly

Category 4. (33 Councils)

Bellingen Moree Plains Cabonne Murray

City of Lithgow Muswellbrook
Cobar Nambucca
Cooma-Monaro Narrabri
Cootamundra Narrandera
Cowra Parkes

Deniliquin Richmond Valley

Forbes Singleton Palerang **Snowy River** Gilgandra Tumut Glen Innes Severn Walgett Gunnedah Wellington Inverell Wentworth Kiama Yass Valley Leeton Young

Mid-Western Regional

Category 5. (44 Councils)

Balranald <u>D</u>ungog Narromine Gloucester Berrigen Oberon Bland Greater Hume Temora Tenterfield Blayney Gundagai Bogan Guyra Tumbarumba Bombala Gwydir Upper Hunter Harden Boorowa Upper Lachlan

Bourke Hay Uralla
Brewarrina Jerilderie Urana
Carrathool Junee Wakool
Central Darling Kyogle Walcha
Conargo Lachlan Warren

Coolamon Liverpool Plains Warrumbungle

152

Coonamble Lockhart Weddin

Corowa Murrumbidgee

TOTAL GENERAL PURPOSE COUNCILS

Category S3 (10 Councils)

Castlereagh – Macquarie
Central Murray
Far North Coast
Hawkesbury River
Mid Western

New England Weeds
Richmond River
Southern Slopes
Upper Hunter
Upper Macquarie

Category S4 (6 Councils)

Central Tablelands MidCoast
Cudgegong Riverina Water

Goldenfields Water Rous

TOTAL COUNTY COUNCILS 16

DETERMINATION OF ANNUAL REMUNERATION FEES FOR COUNCILLORS AND MAYORS

Pursuant to s.241 of the Local Government Act 1993, the annual fees to be paid in each of the categories determined under s.234 to Councillors, Mayors, members and chairpersons of County Councils during the period 1 July 2005 to 30 June 2006 are determined as follows:

	Councillor/Member Annual Fee		Mayor/Chairperson Additional Fee*	
	Minimum	Maximum	Minimum	Maximum
Category 5	5,875	6,460	6,240	10,615
Category 4	5,875	7,750	6,240	16,920
Category 3	5,875	12,925	12,490	28,215
Category 2	5,875	12,925	12,490	28,215
Category 1	8,810	16,450	18,730	43,705
Category 1A	11,745	19,385	24,970	56,505
S4	1,175	6,460	2,500	10,615
S3	1,175	3,875	2,500	7,055
S2	11,745	19,385	24,970	56,505
S1	17,625	25,850	107,840	141,900

^{*}This fee must be paid in addition to the fee paid to the Mayor/Chairperson as a Councillor/Member (s.249(2)).

Local Government Remuneration Tribunal

(The Honourable Charles L Cullen Q.C.)

Dated: 13 April 2005