A NSW Government website
Remuneration Tribunals


What are the NSW Remuneration Tribunals?

There are three Remuneration Tribunals in NSW. Each Remuneration Tribunal is established under legislation to make binding determinations on remuneration and/or additional entitlements for specified roles. The determinative functions of each Tribunal are completely independent of the NSW Government.  The three Tribunals are the:

Statutory and Other Offices Remuneration Tribunal (SOORT)

Constituted under the Statutory and Other Offices Remuneration Act 1975 and makes determinations on the remuneration payable to the:

  • Public Service Senior Executive (PSSE)
  • Chief Executive and Senior Executive Service (SES)
  • Judges and Magistrates Group
  • Court and Related Officers Group
  • Public Office Holders
  • Governor of New South Wales 

Parliamentary Remuneration Tribunal (PRT)

Constituted under the Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989 and makes determinations on salaries, allowances, equipment services and facilities for Members of Parliament.

Local Government Remuneration Tribunal (LGRT)

Constituted under the Local Government Act 1993 and makes determinations on Categories for Councils and the minimum and maximum fee levels for each Category.

Where is the NSW Remuneration Tribunal secretariat?

The secretariat for NSW Remuneration Tribunals is located in the NSW Public Service Commission. While the secretariat provides administrative and policy support for each remuneration tribunal, the NSW Public Service Commission does not seek to  influence the Tribunals in the undertaking of their independent statutory responsibilities.